Here and Now

Have you ever stopped for just a moment and said, “Jesus, thank you for loving me right here and now”? I think we can all agree that Heaven will be amazing when we see it one day, but how does that really help us now? When I’m hurting and full of fearful questions, I need more than the promise of Heaven one day to get me through. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so thankful for Heaven and the promises it holds; but more than that, I’m thankful that no matter what, He still loves me. The story of the prodigal son is the greatest example of this. The ring of authority, the robe of blessing, and the party for a sinner’s return are all given to him before he’s even had a chance to grasp what’s just happened. Forgiveness has fully rescued him. I think this is one of the most beautiful parts of who Jesus truly is. He sees us at our best even when we’re at our worst. Then He speaks hope over our lives restoring us back to a future full of joy. Heaven one day, ok yes that’s fantastic, but my mind can’t even start to comprehend what that really looks like. I can however understand the heartache life throws at me in the here and now. I can also understand the peace He offers that passes all of my broken understanding. So yes, thank you Jesus for a promise of heaven one day, but even more than that, thank you for what you give us here and now.

Leave a comment