Does God Love Me?

Why does it seem like it’s so difficult to be right with God? This is a question that perplexes most of us. We worry ourselves with Hell and just how easily we may be on our way there. The Devil loves it when we question the love of God in our lives because that fear drives us to make poor decisions. “Why try to live right when God is upset with me? Why show love to my neighbor when God doesn’t show love to me?” In short, the doubt that riddles my mind about God’s love towards me, causes me to forget how to love my neighbor.
Trying to convince myself that God still loves me is a futile place to start. It makes more sense for me to start with what God has commanded me to do. “Love your neighbor as yourself” Mark 12:31. One I’ve put this principle into practice I will begin to clearly see just how much God loves me. ‭ John‬ ‭15:‭11-12‬ lest us know that, “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.”
So does loving my brother alone make me perfect? No, of course not! But try and tell me that I’m a Christian God is pleased with just because I have a successful ministry and I’m used in the gifts of the spirit. All the while I’m overlooking those in need all around me, (unless of course it’s making my ministry look better). Over the course of our Christian walk many of us have developed a warped sense of how to get God’s attention, and how to earn His love. It will never be how I perform for God but rather how I love those around me that will gain His favor and in turn make me feel more secure in my walk with Him.

IMG_3172.JPG

Leave a Reply

