Feeling Trapped?

IMG_3173Often times, “feeling trapped” is a term used in place of “I just don’t really want to do what it takes to change the situation I’m in”. Don’t get confused here, I’m not implying that we’re not uncomfortable or may not even despise the situation; I’m simply saying that no matter how much we may be disgusted with the present situation, we just really don’t want to make ourselves even more uncomfortable than what we already are. It’s like the worker that greets you as you enter the front door of Walmart. His or her name tag states, “Hello My Name Is – How May I Help You?” To whom is this statement being made? It’s both for you, and for themselves. It lets both parties know identity, and purpose. When the worker takes the name tag off at the end of their shift not only does their purpose change, but to the rest of us, their identity as we knew it is lost. They just become another face in the crowd.

Why Are You Trapped?

     You and I may despise our situation, but this is what we’ve grown accustomed to living in. It has shaped who we are both to us and to the others around us. It instructs others on how to view us because of what is constantly being portrayed through our actions and our words. Our situation often times dominates our conversations and in turn effects the way we are towards friends and family. It screens out, “Hello, My Name Is – And I’m Depressed, Angry, Full Of Sorrow, Disappointed… etc”. Most of us may not like our situation, but we just don’t even know who we would be without our sorrow. We’ve just lived with it for so long that that’s all we really know of ourselves. Yes, we hate it but let’s face it, we just don’t trust God. “What will He do if I let go of the sorrow? Will He still repay the one that hurt me if I forgive?” What we are really saying is that God is not really good and certainly not a rewarder of them who seek Him as stated in Hebrews 11:6. We have believed a lie and therefore we are trapped!

How To Get Out

     So how do we get out of this trap? Well, for starters, we have to take the Bible at it’s word. Sure, this can be tough when we feel like God Himself has let us down, but we absolutely must give it a try. The Bible tells us in John 8:32 that the Truth will set you free, and remember, freedom is what we are seeking. Did you know that Jesus tells us that when we are weak then He is strong (2 Cor 13:9)? It’s hard to believe, I know. To us, it seems that when we are weak, He has failed us. Why choose weakness? Why not choose to let us be strong, self-satisfied, or self-confident? It’s because these things come from self and self will always lead us down the wrong path. Paul said about himself, “I know that good doesn’t dwell in me” (Romans 7:18). You and I may find some inner-strength for the road ahead and maybe even enough to conquer one or two troubles in our lives; however, in the end, troubles will arise that we just don’t have the strength for. “But I just can’t trust God! He hasn’t been there for me when I needed Him most!” Or, “I have done so many things wrong that He just won’t help me anymore.” Neither of these are true no matter how much it may feel like it. The real fact is that we choose to believe these things even though they are false.

God will help you but first you must learn to trust Him. “Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light’ (Matthew 11:28-30)”. You and I are not trapped by our situation; we are trapped by unbelief and fear. Our attitude is a choice we have made for ourselves, we have chosen that name tag. Not God! Not the one who hurt us! We have chosen our misery and to stay lost in it. Yes, even if the one who is hurting us is still in our lives. You CAN trade in that name tag, but are YOU willing to trust in Jesus and His ability to heal you?

Leave a Reply

