I Need Some Direction

For that is what God is like. He is our God forever and ever, and he will guide us until we die. Psalm 48:14 NLT 

Many of us, at this moment, feel as if we have no direction in life.  We wake up every morning wondering, “Why am I alive?”  We stumble through the day feeling as if we trip over everything that comes our way.  By the time we make it to bed, we’re thankful to see another useless day come to an end.  Sleep seems to be the only comfort, our escape from reality.  Somewhere along this path we accept that this is the way it is, and it’s just never going to change. 

After all your tears, all your worrying, all the prayers you threw up to God and felt as if they went nowhere, you’ve finally come to this belief, God doesn’t care about you!  If this is where you are right now, I hope to give you some encouragement, and a new perspective.

          1.  God has not forgotten about you

Sometimes, God lets us feel as if we are alone; going through life without His hand holding us and leading us.  You may think you’ve let God down because you’re not good enough for Him to use. Or, He’s running from you because of some private sin you’ve committed, or may still be committing.  But you’re wrong.  God doesn’t withdraw His hand of love from you just because you make some mistakes.  If anything, don’t you think He wants to lead you out of that sin and pain so you won’t be destroyed?  You may think you’re not worthy of this kind of love, and none of us are really, but we can’t, by our own goodness, make ourselves good enough to please to Him.  It’s His blood that makes us worthy to have our sins covered, so that we can live with His direction and purpose in our lives. 

Take a look at what the Apostle Paul had to say about himself.  “Oh, how generous and gracious our Lord was!  He filled me with the faith and love that comes from Christ Jesus.  This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it:  “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all.  But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners.  Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.”  1 Timothy 1:14-16 NLT.  If a guy could claim to be the worst of all sinners, and then tell you to, “Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ”, don’t you think we should reconsider how we view Gods’ way of dealing with our shortcomings?  

          2.  Why we feel separation from God.

This is a time of building your faith.  When we feel alone and separated from Him, it’s because He wants us to learn how to pursue Him for awhile, not because He enjoys being difficult, but because he knows that difficult times will come into our lives.  If we haven’t learned how to seek out His hand of direction, or His loving protection, we could fall into all sorts of traps set up by the enemy.  You may wonder, “Well why doesn’t He just protect me and point out every trap set up by the enemy, so that I won’t fail?”  He does.  He uses His Word (the Bible) to point out all sorts of things, but if we don’t read it, how can we hear or see what He’s pointing out?  He uses our prayer time to help us unload all the heavy weights we’ve been carrying, and in turn, to see the heavy weights that others carry so we can pray for them.  But if we never feel the need to pray or read His Word, how will we ever start?  Remember, we aren’t good enough on our own to have a consistent prayer life or Bible reading time.  You may start out good for awhile, but it will end up the same way it always does, failing.  God is the one who gives you the strength to pray, and the desire to read His word.  And often times He uses personal tragedy or loneliness to be the calling out to us.

  Of course the Devil is going to lie to you, and there are going to be those Christians that will beat you over the head and tell you you’re not good enough.  But don’t listen!  Pay no attention!  They are miserable too and are looking for the answers just like you are.  Don’t get bitter or angry.  Let God love you; draw you near, so that you can help them to discover Gods’ love and acceptance, the same way you have.

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they will never die, and no one can steal them out of my hand.  My Father gave my sheep to me. He is greater than all, and no person can steal my sheep out of my Father’s hand.” John 10:27-29 NCV

8 thoughts on “I Need Some Direction

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much Mark.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I needed to hear from the Lord. And when I read “I need some direction” my spirit came alive and my heart rejoiced. These words reached the core of the pain and deposited not just an analgesic, but it removed the source. Only “THE WORD” would bring such relief. Keep walking in the will of the Lord, and I pray that His gentle hands will always guide you.

  3. Mary Duffek says:

    So true….You are very talented with putting your thoughts down in writing. =) Thought provoking and encouraging.

  4. Kris Newman says:

    Excellent! Was wondering when we would hear some more of your writing. Thank you, again, for deep meaning cloaked in simple truth.

Leave a Reply

