Failing While at Your Spiritual Best

20110608-083600.jpg

Have you ever wondered, while seeming to be at your spiritual peak, you can do some of the worst things and fall so easily? I feel this is something that has many of us perplexed and confused. While I don’t believe there is only one concrete answer, there are some things we can better understand that will help keep us on the right path, no matter where we seem to be right now in our walk with God.

Cloud Nine vs. Going Deep

There is a difference between being deep with God, and being on a momentary cloud nine. When you’re on cloud nine, commitments can be easily broken in a moment of weakness. For example, King David with Bathsheba (2Sam 11). King David was full of himself and his position as king rather than God and His commands. We christians can be the same way with religion rather than relationship. We must always strive to deepen the relationship, and that takes time and commitment. When we’ve gone deep with God nothing can pull us away. Job is a great example of this. While at his worst, his deep relationship with God pulled him through, “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain my own ways before him.” (Job 13:15 KJV)

The relationship must be personal

It’s impossible to cheat when you’re in love. It’s when the relationship has lost its value, or has never meant anything to begin with that you start to get the wrong ways of thinking, and allow yourself to do something harmful. Remember, “personal” means just between you and Him, no matter what anybody else does or thinks about what you’re doing. Friends and family may go astray, but is your commitment built on their relationship with God, or your own? We must do what we do out of love for Him, and then we’ll remain in His hand. “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.” (John 10:27-29)

While on top, it’s easy to get over-confident.

There’s no argument to be made against the power that comes from prayer, Bible reading, and fasting. They work! However, the question should be asked, “Have I reached this place due to only one good altar call, one good prayer meeting, or one good talk with my pastor or close friend, or is it because I’ve been making prayer and Bible reading a part of my daily walk?” No doubt, a good talk or prayer meeting can do wonders for us, but they are nothing more than a quick boost or pick-me-up, and should be seen as just that. It’s the time spent with God that makes us go deep with Him. While Job was at his physical worst, he spoke more times of the secrets of God than any time before. See Job 11:16; 14:13; 15:8; 15:11; 29:4; 40:13. Our confidence must be in the Word of God rather than a one time experience, or a string of bad days and events.

It’s not the mistakes that define us

Our attitude about our failures is what will make us or break us. If we decide to live under the weight of our mistake, we will become failures. If we get the attitude that says, “I’ve already done this bad thing and failed, so what’s it going to matter if I do this now?”, we will become failures. If you get the attitude, “This is just the way I am, get over it!” you will become a failure. If we want to be spiritually confident, we must love God’s word and what it stands for, and have a love for prayer and spending time with God. These things are built with time and love, never over-night.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39 KJV)

6 thoughts on “Failing While at Your Spiritual Best

  1. Mary Showalter says:

    Great post! Reminds me of the 10th Avenue North song: You are more than the choices that you’ve made, you are more than the sum of your past mistakes, you are more than the problems you create, you’ve been remade.

  2. ChristinaLi says:

    Thank-you so much for this post. It’s so easy to beat yourself up and/or allow Satan to beat you up. Instead, if we realize the TRUTH that we are loved with an everlasting love and God has GREAT plans for us, we can draw nearer to Him and be changed from glory to glory!

  3. Jay Ravichandran says:

    Thank You Pastor Mark for this message.

  4. rmannes says:

    This was exactly what I needed to hear. Thank you so much for sharing what God gives you. I really enjoy your blog! It is inspiring and encouraging and God speaks to me through it. Looking forward to all of your future posts!

  5. Judy Himsl says:

    All I can add is Amen!!! Thanks for an excellant message!

Leave a Reply

