Get Some Confidence

I would like to share with you three truths concerning Confidence. These truths may not be what you are accustomed to hearing from your friends or coworkers, but I can assure you, confidence is something easily obtained, you just need to know where to place it. Read on and you will understand what I am talking about.

Truth 1Self-confidence and self-image are never spoken of, or encouraged in the Bible

Our confidence should be in the Lord not in ourselves. Look at these words David wrote about hope and confidence;  “For you have been my hope, Sovereign Lord, my confidence since my youth. From birth I have relied on you; you brought me forth from my mother’s womb. I will ever praise you. I have become a sign to many; you are my strong refuge.” (Psalm 71:5-7 NIV) Notice how David said that when he had confidence in God it became a sign to many. This was seen in David when he was at a critical time in his life and he needed confidence. “And David was greatly distressed; for the people spoke of stoning him,… but David encouraged himself in the Lord his God” (1 Samuel 30:6 KJV). When he was at his lowest and everything was against him, God became his confidence, and the people regained their confidence in David!

Truth 2. Self-confidence breeds Arrogance

This is why we are never told by God’s word to gain more self-confidence. When a person searches for reasons to be confident in themselves, one of two things happens. Either they find what they were looking for and they become proud of themselves, or they are left disappointed by the fact that what it takes just wasn’t there. Sure, we can tell ourselves that we only want to gain more self-confidence so that we can better perform, but we are only fooling ourselves. What happens when you find that inner strength or goodness and begin to build on it, only to have it taken from you by a tragedy, a lie, or a harsh word? You quickly spin out of control and become easy prey for the devil. This is what happened to King Saul. Self-confidence is always unstable. 

Truth 3. God desires Brokenness   

Why would God tell us in his Word, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise”, and then encourage us to get self-confidence? Our own self-will, our need to find the goodness from within, and the need to make others see us in a certain light must be broken so that we can do the work before us. When we are broken before Him, He can remake us into what he desires, and in turn, He will become our confidence. When we find our confidence in Him nothing can convince us we are not good enough or equipped enough to do the work of God. There will be no self-will or arrogance in the way to blind us with pride.

Paul said this about his flesh and why it needs to be broken, “And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t.” (Romans 7:18 NLT) This is why we need to find our confidence and image in Christ rather than ourselves.

“He must increase, but I must decrease”. (John 3:30 KJV) 

13 thoughts on “Get Some Confidence

  1. Anonymous says:

    Your blogs are a wonderful tool! Thank you so much! Please keep it up we need you!

  2. Mary Showalter says:

    Great post! “When I am weak, then am I strong.” Thanks for all your great thoughts!

  3. R. Mangold says:

    Anointed post Bro. – I think we all too often mistake “boldness” for self-confidence. Boldness is NOT confidence in one’s self, rather confidence in whom we’ve placed our hope and trust! This is the same confidence referred to in Hebrews 10:35 – “Cast not away therefore your confidence (boldness), which hath great recompence of reward.”

    When we’re sure of what we’re called to do, and who called us to do it, there’s no stopping us. To me that gives us boldness or confidence. Again, not confidence in ourselves, but confidence in the one who called us!

    Man I feel a “preaching spirit” coming on me!

    Thanks Bro. Mark!

  4. Christina Li says:

    Mark, this was an excellent blog post! I was wondering. I’m in the middle of writing a new book, ‘Allow Joy Into Your Life’. Can I have your permission to reprint this article in my book?
    God bless!
    –Christina

  5. Judy says:

    John 3:30 He must increase, but I must decrease.

    Even from a worldly perspective…I remember reading many years ago, not sure where, that self-confidence is not linked to achievement. The article listed Abraham Lincoln becoming president as an example. It is well known that he “suffered” from what psychology calls low self image.

    I enjoy your blog because it lines up with scripture and so far…I haven’t witnessed any of the world’s psychology creeping in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

