The Midnight Cry

My heart is breaking over what I see happening in the lives of us Christians today. We have become so passive in our daily walk with God. We fail to fast for the move of the spirit, for our lives or for the lives of others. We fail to make prayer a daily part of our lives. Bible reading has to contend with our time spent watching TV or being on the internet. Our flesh and its lusts have taken over and we have become blinded to the destruction all around us. The world is crying out in desperation while bound in the chains of their sins. They are hurting and dying inside without answers.

God spoke to the Prophet Ezekiel of the impending doom of Jerusalem. He said that it might be averted if just a few would be found faithful and stand with Him, but here is His resolve: “I looked for a man among them who would buildup the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found none. So I will pour out my wrath on them and consume them with my fiery anger, bringing down on their own heads all they have done, declares the Sovereign Lord.” (Ezekiel 22:30-31 NIV).

God’s Broken Heart

The voice of God is crying out to us, but we can’t hear it anymore. Our ears are shut up and our voice is silent. We are too busy. We have to find a place of repentance if we are truly going to be in the will of God. God gives us an understanding of the kind of desire he finds in the heart of man when Jesus said in Matthew 22:14, “Many are called but few are chosen.”  We must live like we are chosen, not just talk like it. All of our words, all of our church attendance, even all the money we put in the offering plate means nothing if we don’t love others, put them first, and live like we have a desire to please God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength.

“If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing” (1Cor 13:1-3 NLT).

“Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’ (Matt 7:21-23 NLT).

This is the time, today is the day. If we don’t stop making excuses for ourselves now we never will. This world can’t afford us to put it off any longer.

Leave a Reply

