Keep Holding On

Even some of the greatest men in the Bible felt as if they were falling apart. I want to share three examples of deep hurt and personal tragedy surrounding some of the strongest men in the Bible.

Job 

“Night gnaws at my bones; the pain never lets up” (Job 30:17 MSG). Job said this just before God restored him.

Elijah

“I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died” (1Kings 19:4 NLT). Elijah says this while running for his life from Jezebel.  He feels like God has forgotten about him and is leaving him to die. After feeding him, God takes him up on a mountain and shows him how to recognize his voice.

David

“Oh Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger or discipline me in your wrath. Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am faint; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are in agony. My soul is in anguish. How long, O Lord, how long? Turn, O Lord, and deliver me; save me because of your unfailing love. No one remembers you when he is dead. Who praises you from the grave? I am worn out from groaning; all night long I flood my bed with weeping and drench my couch with tears” (Ps 6:1-6). David said all of this just after the worst mistake of his life. After this, God reminds him that he is still the apple of His eye.

These three men all tell us the same thing, KEEP HOLDING ON!! You may want to quit right now, but God still has a plan. It really doesn’t matter if you’ve made mistakes or even wasted most of your time. He still loves you, and His plan for your life never fails.

“For God’s gifts and his call can never be withdrawn” (Romans 11:29 NLT).

2 thoughts on “Keep Holding On

  1. Kris Newman says:

    The gifts and the calling…. He never takes them back. We might think it easier if He would, but He won’t. Glad that He doesn’t quit us as easy as we quit ourselves. God is good.

  2. Mary Showalter says:

    OH HOW HE LOVES US! HE LOVES US!! HE LOVES US!!!!! : ))

Leave a Reply

